## EXXARO RESOURCES LIMITED

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa (Registration Number: 2000/011076/06) JSE share code: EXX ISIN: ZAE000084992 ADR code: EXXAY (Exxaro or the Company)

## APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN, LEAD INDEPENDENT DIRECTOR AND BOARD COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

Shareholders are hereby advised, in compliance with paragraph 3.59 of the Listings Requirements of the JSE Limited, of the following changes to the Board of Directors (Board) and various committees with immediate effect.

Exxaro is pleased to announce that Mr J van Rooyen, who joined the Board in August 2008 has been appointed as the new independent non-executive chairman of the Board. Mr van Rooyen served as the chairman of the Audit Committee, but has resigned from the Audit Committee on 28 May 2018. He was appointed as Lead Independent Director (LID) on 26 March 2018. He contributes a wealth of skills and experience and will undoubtedly steer the Board with prudence and integrity.

Mr van Rooyen holds a BCom and BCompt (hons) and is a CA(SA). He is a director of various companies in the Uranus Group, non-executive director of MTN Group Limited and Pick n Pay Stores Limited. He is a former chairman of the Financial Reporting Standards Council (FRSC), a former trustee of the International Accounting Standards Foundation and former member of the University of Pretoria's faculty of economic and management sciences' oversight board. He was a partner at Deloitte & Touche, chairman of the Public Accountants and Auditors Board, CEO of the Financial Services Board and advisor to the former Minister of Public Enterprises during the Mandela administration. Mr van Rooyen is a founder member and former president of the Association for the Advancement of Black Accountants of South Africa.

Exxaro is also pleased to announce that Ms GJ Fraser-Moleketi, who has been appointed to the Board on 22 May 2018, has been appointed as LID. Ms Fraser-Moleketi will bring a fresh and dynamic perspective to the Board.

Ms Fraser-Moleketi holds a Master in Public Administration and a D Phil. She is a fellow of the Institute of Politics, Kennedy School of Government, at Harvard University, and has completed a leadership course at Wharton Business School at the University of Pennsylvania. Geraldine holds a master's degree in Administration, University of Pretoria, and has received several awards including the OP Dwivedi public service award from the International Association of Schools and Institutes of Public Administration and a special award for outstanding achievement from University of Pretoria's School of public management and administration. She is Chancellor of the Nelson Mandela University. She also serves as a non-executive director on the Board of Standard Bank Group as well as Standard Bank South Africa.

The following independent non-executive directors have been appointed as chairmen of Exxaro's board committees:

Mr V Nkonyeni, has been appointed to chair the Audit committee.

Mr LI Mophatlane, has been appointed to chair the Investment Committee.

Mr EJ Myburgh, has been appointed to chair the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.



Ms A Sing, has been appointed to chair the Social and Ethics committee.

Mr PCCH Snyders, has been appointed to chair the Sustainability, Risk and Compliance committee.

The Board extends congratulations to the named directors and looks forward to their invaluable contribution to the business and their commitment during their tenure at Exxaro.

SE VAN LOGGERENBERG GROUP COMPANY SECRETARY

15 June 2018 Sponsor ABSA Bank Limited (acting through its Corporate and Investment Banking division)

